2405 North 650 East • Provo, Utah 84604 • Phone (801) 374-4935 • Fax (801) 374-5081

 

 

 

 

 

October 1st - 10th

1st -- Marathon in a Month Forms Due

2nd -- Early Out at 1:30 pm District Wide for Teacher Training

3rd -- Fun Run at 9:30 am  and Early Dismiss at 1:30 pm

6th -- Cookie Dough Fundraiser Assembly 2 pm

8th -- Walk to School Day

10th -- Early Dismiss at 1:30 pm

         BOX TOPS DUE for October 31st  

Check back often to see what is going on at our school!

 

Spotlight/School News
 

 Rock Canyon Events

Click HERE to view pictures of the various events held at Rock Canyon.

Click HERE to see all of the class lists and information materials for the 2014-15 school year!!!! 

beeps newsletter

 


Upcoming Events \Eat at Pizza Pie Cafe - to earn $$ for our school

  • Chess Club at 3:20 pm on October 1st
  • October 2nd is Early Dismissal at 1:30 pm for Teacher District Wide Training
  • October 3rd is the new day for our school Fun Run.  9:30 am
  • October 6th is the Cookie Dough Fundraiser Assembly at 2 pm
  • October 8th is "Walk to School Day".
  • October 10th is our regular Early Dismissal day at 1:30 pm

 

  News From the Office

lunch forms


  

 

OUR LOST & FOUND HAS GROWN!!

coat

LOST & FOUND

PARENTS!!!! THIS IS YOUR LAST CHANCE TO RECLAIM ANYTHING FROM THE LOST AND FOUND! HAVE YOUR CHILDREN GO LOOK FOR ANYTHING THEY MAY HAVE LEFT WITHOUT REALIZING IT!

THE LOST AND FOUND IS OVERFLOWING!  KIDS HAVE LEFT HATS, SCARVES, GLOVES, JACKETS, COATS, SHIRTS, PANTS, SHOES, BACKPACKS, BALLS, ALL SORTS OF THINGS THAT PROBABLY COST YOU MONEY!  COME PICK THEM UP AND SAVE THEM FROM BEING DIVESTED FROM THE SCHOOL FOREVER!


 

What to do when your child will be absent from school…

We ask that all parents contact Rock Canyon School as soon as possible when your child is absent.  Please call our Absence Line (801-812-8675) and leave a recorded message with the following information:

Telephone

  1. Your Name
  2. Your Child's First and Last Name
  3. Your Child's Teacher's Name
  4. The reason for being abscent

 

Checking Your Student Out of School:

  1. Come to the office and sign student out.
  2. DO NOT take student off school grounds without coming into the office first and getting a visitor badge.

Eating Lunch with Your Student:

  1. Come to the office and get a visitor badge if you are going to be on the playground.  We want to keep your children safe and need to know who any adults are on the playground.

Community Council Meetings:

Community Council Meetings are always held on the 4th Wednesday of the month at 3:30 p.m. in the library (Except for Nov and Dec and that will be the 3rd Wednesday).  The public is welcome to attend.

Dear Patrons of Rock Canyon Elementary,

This year the State of Utah will distribute approximately $30,000.00 to Rock Canyon Elementary School.  The funds are generated from the interest gained on state owned lands dedicated to help public education. It is called the School Land Trust program, or Trustlands. Our Community Council is made up of members of our community and employees from our school. The Council’s responsibility is to evaluate the areas where the funding would be spent the best to help in student achievement.

If you ever wish to contact any of our council members, or want to attend any of our meetings, you are welcome to do so.

Listed below are our Community Council members for 2013 – 2014:

Meeting minutes can be downloaded by Clicking Here.

Download Trustlands Final Report 2012-13


School Fundraising

Box Tops

Boxtop

WE NEED YOUR BOXTOPS!!! 


 

Smiths_Earn_Learn_Banner


Smith's is proud to continue offering you the “Earn & Learn” program, which has proved so successful in contributing much-needed financial support to schools and community organizations dedicated to serving children.
The Earn & Learn Program was designed to make fundraising easy by simply using your Smith's rewards card.

It's Easy... just shop, swipe your card & earn! Enroll

 


Want to Help Rock Canyon with Recycling?

Did you know that you could help Rock Canyon Elementary by recycling certain items?  Now you can!  The school office would be happy to recycle the following items, and all donations will benefit the school! The items are:

  1. Newspaper (bin behind school)
  2. old cell phones
  3. inkjet cartridges/laser cartridges

 

Line

RoadRunner

Important School Phone Numbers:

School Hours: M-TH 8:40-3:20pm, F 8:40-1:30pm

School Office: 374-4935

Absence Line: 812-8675

TDD (Call District Office): 374-4815

Last Updated September 3, 2014    Return to top

School Information

Dean Nielsen

Principal
DeanN@provo.edu
Principal's Website


Ann Bigelow

Teacher
AnnB@provo.edu
Link to Website


Charlene Stewart

Teacher
CharlenS@provo.edu
Link to Website


Karen Murray

Teacher
KarenMu@provo.edu
Link to Website


Kara Medaris

Teacher
KaralynM@provo.edu
Link to Website


Judy Snyder

Teacher
JudyN@provo.edu
Link to Website


Alyce Jayne McKinney

Teacher
AlyceJayneM@provo.edu
Link to Website


Stacie Mason

Teacher
StacieM@provo.edu
Link to Website


Nicki Bracha

Teacher
NickiB@provo.edu
Link to Website


Deborah Barlow

Teacher
DebbieBa@provo.edu
Link to Website


Anna Simons

Teacher
AnnaS@provo.edu
Link to Website


Susan Lynne Eliason

Teacher
SusanE@provo.edu
Link to Website


Danielle Fueger

Teacher
DanielleF@provo.edu
Link to Website


Brenda Miller

Teacher
BrendaD@provo.edu
Link to Website


Deanna Lee

Teacher
DeannaL@provo.edu
Link to Website


Connie Wilkins

Teacher
ConnieW@provo.edu
Link to Website


Regan Benson

Teacher
ReganB@provo.edu
Link to Website


DeAnn Brown

Teacher
DeAnnB@provo.edu
Link to Website


Lynne Harrington

Teacher
LynneH@provo.edu
Link to Website


Kristen Barnum

Teacher
KristenB@provo.edu
Link to Website



Emalie Mckee

Teacher
EmalieM@provo.edu
Link to Website


Christina Cooper

Teacher
ChristinaCo@provo.edu
Link to Website


Kallee Bingham

Teacher
KalleeS@provo.edu
Link to Website


Andrea Neilson

Teacher
AndreaS@provo.edu
Link to Website


Christy Yardley

Teacher
ChristyGo@provo.edu
Link to Website


Bryce Porter

Technology
BryceP@provo.edu
Link to Website


Susan Quebbeman

Music
SusanQ@provo.edu
Link to Website


Leticia Meibos

Media
LeticiaM@provo.edu
Link to Website


Carrie Mecham

Speech
CarrieM@provo.edu
Link to Website


Chris Fillmore

After School
ChrisF@provo.edu
Link to Website


Links to Class Websites

 

Calendar

Rock Canyon Criterion-Referenced Tests

Percent Proficient

Language Arts

3rd Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 94% 89% 85% 92%
District 85% 85% 88% 87%
State 79% 79% 80% 80%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 3rd Grade Language Arts Data

 

4rd Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 94% 88% 86% 92%
District 87% 87% 86% 89%
State 78% 76% 79% 79%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 4th Grade Language Arts Data

 

5th Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 88% 88% 88% 78%
District 84% 88% 88% 86%
State 79% 78% 81% 81%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 5th Grade Language Arts Data

 

6th Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 92% 93% 91% 90%
District 87% 90% 89% 90%
State 80% 81% 82% 83%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 6th Grade Language Arts Data

 

 


Math

3rd Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 77% 85% 90% 90%
District 78% 82% 86% 87%
State 72% 77% 77% 78%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 3rd Grade Math Data

 

4th Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 90% 86% 85% 90%
District 81% 86% 85% 89%
State 76% 78% 80% 80%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 4th Grade Math Data

 

5th Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 81% 75% 80% 78%
District 84% 85% 85% 87%
State 78% 77% 79% 81%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 5th Grade Math Data

 

6th Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 87% 90% 93% 84%
District 79% 85% 85% 89%
State 72% 77% 77% 78%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 6th Grade Math Data

 

 


Science

4th Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 63% 70% 63% 81%
District 68% 70% 70% 80%
State 65% 66% 70% 71%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 4th Grade Science Data

 

5th Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 74% 82% 80% 71%
District 73% 77% 77% 78%
State 74% 75% 76% 78%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 5th Grade Science Data

 

6th Grade 2010 2011 2012 2013
Rock Canyon 84% 85% 84% 84%
District 78% 81% 80% 83%
State 75% 76% 76% 76%

Click here to see Bar Graph of 6th Grade Science Data

 

Achievement Data